January Raspberry Jam in Leeds

Our first Raspberry Jam of 2016 was again hosted by our friends at Swallow Hill Community College: 


We offered a hands-on workshop to introduce those interested (or intrigued) in programming with Python through gaming, and there were also a wide range of individual questions supported by new collaborations and ongoing sharing:

  • How do I know if I’ve got the most up-to-date OS on my SD card?
  • How can I use Raspberry Pi in my classroom?
  • What kind of activities and challenges can I offer to my students who have a range of special educational needs?
  • Show me how to control my radiators with a Raspberry Pi!
  • I’ve used Scratch to make games.  What else can I do?
  • Show me what my main Christmas present can do….and help me with how I can explore…..look, it’s a Raspberry Pi with an electronics kit 🙂
  • How can we support our son/daughter at home with a Raspberry Pi?
  • Now I’ve used Pygame to play and hack, how can I code my own games?
IMG_9026

Retro Pi Challenges

What else happens at the Raspberry Jam events in Leeds?

Well, with the wealth of experience and help available building up each month, wonders never cease 🙂

IMG_9023

Home automation

A few snapshots below of what we explored this week; in addition to activities with electronics and IOT, soldering on-hand support, Gaming Central, Media Corner and robots galore.

IMG_9033

Pygame Pairs – one hacked, the other played!

IMG_9027

Computing convos

IMG_9030

Celebrating an LED moment!

IMG_9034

New discoveries with Pimoroni’s Flotilla set

IMG_9039

Wearable Wonders!

IMG_9015

Introducing KEITH the robot

IMG_9037

Leading the way with loombands 🙂

Want to come along and join us next month?

Register here for free tickets when we’ll meet again at Swallow Hill on Wednesday 3rd February.

Leave a Reply

